SMS Collections Wallpapers
revatio online salespfizer viagra 100mg priceamerican cialis distributorsbetamethasone cream 0 05 uk buy puchasebuy letrozole gynecomastiacheapviagrausabuy jumex online medication doctor"drugstore"pharmacystore"here"canada healthcare mallcheapst celebrex from mexicowhere to buy viagra in illinois
drugs no prescription needed canadiancanada pills online for klonopinvipps pharmacylevitra maximum dosagevisit site canadasildenafil generico in farmacia para que sirvemeclizine over the counter dosage

Dhoni And Yuvraj Honoured With Top ICC Awards

Posted by Kokolicious on September 12th, 2008

India’s One-Day International (ODI) captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has bagged the International Cricket Council‘s (ICC) ODI Player of the Year 2008 Award. While, his Deputy Yuvraj Singh has been selected for the inaugural International Twenty 20 Performer of the Year Award.

There were eight individual prizes for this year’s LG ICC Awards and ODI Player of the Year was one amongst them. Dhoni has also been picked up for the ICC ODI Team of the Year by the ICC selection panel. Dhoni competed neck-to-neck with team-mate Sachin Tendulkar, Australian fast bowler Nathan Bracken and Pakistani player Mohammad Yousuf to capture the award. Whereas, Yuvi got the award for his amazing consecutive six sixes in single over.

Dhoni played 39 ODIs during the voting period and scored 1,298 runs at an average of 49.92 with striking rate of 82.46 runs per 100 balls. He hit one century and nine fifties during the period. While wicket-keeping, he accounted for 62 dismissals (42 catches and 16 stumpings), which is twice as much as the second best. Moreover, he is ranked one in the Reliance Mobile ICC Player Rankings for ODIs currently.

However, Yuvraj’s award highlights the most impressive performances by players in Twenty 20 internationals during the 12-month voting period. For the first time six sixes were hit in single over by any player in Twenty 20 international over. However, Herschelle Gibbs did it in an ODI during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 in West Indies and Garry Sobers became the first batsman to do it in a first-class match way back in 1968.



The Emerging Player of the Year award has been given to sensational Ajantha Mendis, who impressed the world by his storm. The 23-year-old spinner took 26 wickets at an average of 18.38 in just three tests. Also, he claimed 20 wickets at an average of 10.25 in eight ODIs played during the voting period. The Sri Lanka team received the Spirit of Cricket Award in the ceremony.

England’s captain Charlotte Edwards has won the Women’s Cricketer of the Year award. She played 18 matches for England scoring 492 runs at an average of 54.66. She took 15 wickets at 19.03 during the voting period. Australia’s Simon Taufet has been the Umpire of the Year for the 5th consecutive year.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>